Whois Privacy Protection, at times also referred to as Privacy or Whois Privacy Protection, is a service that hides the genuine contact details of domain name registrants on WHOIS check sites. Without such protection, the personal name, street address and email account of any domain registrant will be publicly visible. Providing false details during the domain registration procedure or altering the real details subsequently will simply not work, as doing such a thing may result in the domain registrant losing their ownership of the domain name. The policies approved by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), demand that the WHOIS details must be valid and accurate at all times. The Whois Privacy Protection service was introduced by registrar companies as an answer to the arising concerns about possible identity fraud. If the protection service is activated, the domain registrar’s contact info will appear instead of the domain registrant’s upon a WHOIS check. Most domain names support the Whois Privacy Protection service, although there are some country-code ones that do not.
Whois Privacy Protection in Cloud Website Hosting
You can quickly enable Whois Privacy Protection for any domain name that you’ve registered with our company if you have a cloud website hosting account with us. This can be done through the exact same Hepsia hosting Control Panel, via which you administer the web hosting account itself, so you will not have to log in and out of different admin consoles. In the very same section where all your registered domain names will be listed, there will be an “Whois Privacy Protection” icon for each and every domain whose extension supports this service. The status of that icon will quickly show you if the Whois Privacy Protection service is activated for a given domain or not and by clicking on that icon you can enable the service if you have not done so upon signup. Moreover, you’ll also be able to renew or to deactivate the Whois Privacy Protection service for any domain using the same icon and the change will take effect momentarily.